Image result for public images of Hillary Clinton and Bernie Sanders


A good time was had by all at Island County Democrats’ annual SummerFest fundraiser picnic yesterday. Event chair Carolyn Tamler organized the event, and Art Huffine, Chair of Island County Democrats, was the M.C.  Grethe Cammermeyer and Diane Divelbess again graciously allowed us to gather at their wooded garden in Langley. Numerous enthusiastic volunteers helped out, and the weather even cooperated!

Attendees enjoyed meeting and hearing local candidates: Congressman Rick Larsen, Commissioner Helen Price Johnson, John Fowkes, Doris Brevoort, Nick Petrish, Angie Homola, and Erin Jones (candidate for State Supt. of Public Instruction). Grethe Cammermeyer and Judy Kaplan also spoke.

Charlie McKissick and The Goose deserve special thanks. They helped us out tremendously by donating or providing food and other items at cost. Charlie also donated a large tray of assorted cookies and brownies for the dessert auction.

We’re grateful for our other dessert donors: Whidbey Pies, Mukilteo Coffee, One Spirit Garden, Greenbank Wine Shop, Sweet Mona’s Chocolates, Marion Jonas, Carol Krez, Merri Huffine, Jane Jaehning, Gerry Hill, and Cathy Budbill.

Special thank you’s to our raffle donors: Pam Schell donated an overnight stay at The Inn at Langley, which included dinner and breakfast. Gary and Brynn McIntyre donated a Sweet Sail for Two on Saratoga Passage. Lucky raffle winners!

All in all, it was a wonderful SummerFest, and thank you to all who attended.

ENDORSEMENTS – Primary August 2016

Island County Democrats have voted to endorse the following candidates:

U.S. Senator – Patty Murray

U.S. Representative – Rick Larsen

Governor – Jay Inslee

Secretary of State – Tina Podlodowski

Attorney General – Bob Ferguson

Superintendent of Public Instruction – Erin Jones


Legislative District 10, State Senator – Angie Homola or Nick Petrish

Legislative District 10, State Representative, Position 2 – Doris Brevoort

County Commissioner, District 1 – Helen Price Johnson

County Commissioner, District 2 – John Fowkes

For guidance on candidates not listed above, you may wish to consult:

Progressive Voters Guide – http://www.progressivevotersguide.com/?l=0&